You can translate the content of this page by selecting a language in the select box.

 

STAFF INFORMATION

Commandant of Cadets - Carl Treveris Lloyd

Carl Treveris Lloyd has served as the Academy’s Commandant since 2013.  He was a part of the leadership team that established the Paul R. Brown Leadership Academy.  As Commandant of Cadets he is responsible for the health, welfare, morale and discipline of 148 cadets in grades 6th to 12th.  Before coming to The Paul R. Brown Leadership Academy, he worked in the profession of private military school education from 1992 to 2013.   

He served nine years in the North Carolina National Guard as an enlisted man.   He is a graduate of the US Army Primary Leadership Development Course, the TOW Gunners Course, the National Guard Basic Recruiters Course and the Dragon Gunners Course.  His awards include the Army Achievement Medal with two oak leaf clusters, the Army Reserve Component Achievement Medal, the National Defense Service Medal, the Army NCO Professional Development Ribbon, the Army Service Ribbon, and the North Carolina Service Ribbon.  In 1989 he was named scout of the year for Troop E 196th Cavalry.  He holds a commission of Captain in the United States Air Force Auxiliary Civil Air Patrol and Ensign in the United States Navy Sea Cadet Corps.  In 2004 he was promoted to the rank of Lieutenant Colonel in the North Carolina State Defense Militia by Governor Mike Easley.

His private education career started as a TAC Officer at Oak Ridge Military Academy in Oak Ridge, North Carolina.  He would later go on to become Senior TAC, Assistant Commandant, and Deputy Commandant.  In 1997 he was promoted to Commandant of Cadets.   He was the first African American in the schools 145-year history to hold the title of Commandant of Cadets.   In 1997 he was named the Director of Leadership Studies at Millersburg Military Academy (Millersburg, Kentucky).  In 1998 he was named Commandant of Cadets at MMA becoming the first African American to hold the title in the schools 105-year history.  While at Millersburg he started the Academy’s first summer school program.  In 2002 he was named the Middle School Commandant at St Johns Military School in Salina, Kansas.  At S.J.M.S. he started their first academic and military summer program.   In 2003 he returned to O.R.M.A as the Commandant of Cadets.  From 2009 to 2013 he served as deputy Commandant of Cadets for ST Johns Northwestern Military Academy (Delafield, Wisconsin).

He holds a B.S. from North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University in Public Relations Communications.  While at A & T he served as commander of the Army ROTC & Air Force ROTC Drill Teams.  He pledged the National Society of Pershing Rifles.  As a Pershing Rifleman he served as its drill team commander and chapter president.  As drill team commander he revitalized the drill team which went on to win the college national runner up title.   He was also voted Pershing Rifleman of the year by his peers.

He has coached high school football and middle school football at each one of his schools.  At each one of his schools he has started or revitalized the school’s drill teams.   His teams have been successful in winning countless awards and competitions.   In 1996 his O.R.M.A Drill Team won the National High School Drill Team Championships.   In 2004 his O.R.M.A. drill team was first runner up of the US Army JROTC Eastern Region Championships.  His S.J.N.M.A. team won the challenge division at the US Army Western Region in 2010.  In 2011 they finished first runner-up in the Challenge division at the National High School Drill Team Championships and won the American Legion Coca Cola National Drill Team Championships.   In 2012 his team would win their second American Legion Coca Cola National Championship.   In 2011 his drill team was selected to perform for the Veterans Day opening montage of ESPN’s Monday Night Football.  He is the advisor of the Academy’s National Society of Blackjacks Chapter.  He serves as the advisor of the John L. Foye Rifles the Academy’s drill team.  In seven years, they have competed on the national level winning numerous drill competitions and two Pershing Rifles NATCON titles.  

He is the son of Juanita Andrews Wilson, Herman Wilson and Carl E. Lloyd.   He attended East Arcadia School from kindergarten thru ninth grade.  He is a 1986 graduate of East Bladen high school.  While at East Bladen High School he was a member of the tennis team, the football team, JROTC and the Drill Team.

He has been married for twenty-four years to Theresa Blanks of Kelly, NC.   They have three children Trever 22, Tyler 20 and Brittany 19. 

email: clloyd@prbla.org

Superintendent

Dr. Jason Wray

jwray@prbla.org

Commandant of Cadets

LTC(NC) Carl T. Lloyd

clloyd@prbla.org

Theresa Lloyd

Registrar/Academic Affairs

tlloyd@prbla.org

Amoy Cooper

Innovative Partnership Grant Coach

acooper@prbla.org

 

Sandra Baker

Spanish Teacher

sbaker@prbla.org

Dr. Angela Carr-Finch

CTE Business Teacher

afinch@prbla.org

Jacinda Corbett

Guidance Counselor

jcorbett@prbla.org

Carla Grimes

Technology Director

cagrimes@prbla.org

Annese Haire

American History I

Economics & Personal Finance

National Honor Society Advisor

ahaire@prbla.org

Claudia Lacy

Custodian

clacy@prbla.org

LT Steve Jones

Sea Cadets Instructor

sjones@prbla.org

Sylvester Pittman

Lead Teacher

Athletic Director

Math Chair

HS Math Math Teacher

spittman@prbla.org

 

Claude Russell

High School Science/Middle School Math Teacher

acooper@prbla.org

Keebra Singletary

Middle School Science Teacher

ksingletary@prbla.org

Khalia Stewart

Middle School English Teacher

Kstewart@prbla.org

Dr. Jacqueline B. Wray

Finance/Human Resources Director

CTE Business Teacher

jbwray@prbla.org

carl-lloyd-pbla.jpg